Nous contacter

514-744-2867 ext. 276

scert@summit-school.com

1750 rue Deguire, Saint-Laurent, H4L 1M7, QC

© 2018 by Summit School. Proudly created with Wix.com

confÉrence

MONTREAL, QC    NEW RESIDENCE HALL

1er NOVEMBRE 2019

.

Conférenciers principaux

Le Centre D'Études, Recherche et D'Entrainement de L'École Le Sommet vous invite à sa première Conférence annuelle sur les Conditions Neurodéveloppementales (CND). Notre objectif est de réunir des universitaires de haut niveau pour communiquer leurs connaissances sur les problématiques liées aux individus avec des CND. Nos conférenciers principaux – Dr Bryna Siegel et Dr Michael Wehmeyer – aborderont l’auto-détermination et la transition vers l’âge adulte. Les conférenciers des sessions de groupe dirigeront des ateliers sur des sujets divers incluant la sexualité saine, les troubles du sommeil, l’évaluation cognitive, et les dynamiques familiales (ateliers en anglais et en français). La conférence s’adresse aux universitaires, aux professionnels, aux enseignants, et aux parents.

Crédits de formation continue

Le Centre D'Études, Recherche et D'Entrainement de L'École Le Sommet (SCERT) a reçu l'approbation de l'Ordre des Psychologues du Québec et de l'Association Canadienne de Psychologie pour offrir jusqu'à 5 heures des crédits de formation continue pour les psychologues. Le SCERT reste responsable du programme. (View Disclaimer)

New Residence Hall

3625 Park Ave

 

Montreal, QC

H2X 3P8

Conférenciers des sessions de groupe

Isabelle2.jpg

 Une sexualité saine : Compétences adaptatives pour les étudiants avec un TSA
(Présentation en anglais)

ISABELLE HÉNAULT, PhD 

roger-godbout.jpg

Les difficultés de sommeil dans le TSA et la
déficience intellectuelle : Causes et Interventions

ROGER GODBOUT, PhD

Bryna Siegel.jpg

Autisme et Bien-Être des familles: Éduquer et Former les Parents et les Professionnels à Soutenir les Enfants Autistes du Diagnostic à l'Âge Adulte

(Présentation en anglais)

BRYNA SIEGEL, PhD

Lucy Lach.jpg

Documenter la vie des familles d’enfants avec une CND : De la compréhension
à l’impact
(Présentation en anglais) 

LUCYNA LACH, PhD

IsabelleSoulieres29012014.jpg

Les défis de l’évaluation cognitive des enfants avec une CND

ISABELLE SOULIÈRES, PhD

Wehmeyer_Michael L_PROV-02191_1602191_8x

Construire un Pont vers les Transitions du 21ème Siècle: Méthodes, Matériaux, et Stratégies pour Promouvoir l'Auto-détermination

 

(Présentation en anglais)

MICHAEL WEHMEYER, PhD

Événements inclus

31 octobre 2019

 Événement pré-conférence! Venez vous enregistrer, boire des cocktails, et regarder le film « Being Rachel », un documentaire primé de 60 minutes sur des jeunes avec des conditions développementales qui développent une pièce de théâtre sur leurs vies.

Cocktails and Movie Night

5:00PM to 8:00PM

1er novembre 2019

Des vendeurs et exposants issus de la communauté locale et d’organisations qui travaillent avec des jeunes avec des conditions neurodéveloppementales. Des fleurs aux œuvres d’art, commencez vos courses des fêtes tôt!

Vendor Fair

All Day Nov. 1

1er novembre 2019

Après les sessions de groupe de l’après-midi, relaxez-vous, réseautez, et prenez le temps de cultiver vos contacts lors de notre session d’affiches. Des cocktails et hors d’œuvres seront gracieusement offerts.

 

Cocktails and Poster Session

4:00PM to 5:30PM

Sponsors

Frais d'inscription

Inscription régulière..................................................................

Inscription pour les parents de l’école Le Sommet...........................

Inscription pour les étudiants......................................................

$225

$125

$125

Inscription Hâtive

jusqu'à le 23 septembre 2019

Régulier

$250

$150

$150

Les places sont limitées!

Politique d’annulation

Un remboursement de 75% des frais d’inscription à la conférence peut être obtenu en soumettant votre demande d’annulation à scert@summit-school.com avant le 1er octobre 2019. Seules les annulations dues à des circonstances médicales vérifiables seront considérées pour remboursement partiel après cette date.

 Crédits de formation continue 

CPA Disclaimer:

L’approbation de la SCP d’un individu, d’un groupe, ou d’une organisation comme commanditaire ou fournisseur de formation continue (FC) est restreinte aux activités décrites dans la candidature approuvée ou le formulaire de rapport annuel. L’approbation de la SCP ne s’applique pas à toute autre activité de FC que le commanditaire ou fournisseur offrirait. En donnant son approbation, la SCP demeure sans aucune obligation légale ou financière à l’égard des commanditaires, des fournisseurs, ou des individus qui pourraient participer aux activités ou programmes de FC du commanditaire ou fournisseur. De plus, la responsabilité du contenu, de la mise à disposition, et de la distribution de toute activité de FC approuvée par la SCP demeure celle du commanditaire ou fournisseur de FC. La SCP nie toute responsabilité légale associée au contenu, à la mise à disposition, et à la distribution des activités de FC approuvées.

Conférence SCERT 

1er novembre 2019

New Residence Hall

3629 Ave Du Parc,

Montréal, QC

scert@summit-school.com

Bryna Siegel, PhD

Directrice Exécutive, Autism Center of Northern California

Professeure, Psychiatrie de l’enfant et de l’adolescent, University of California, San Francisco (retraitée)

Conférence

Reconceptualiser les TSA comme Styles d’Apprentissage Autistiques et Troubles d’Apprentissage Autistiques : Vers Un Traitement Individuel, Développemental, et Centré sur le Résultat

(Présentation en anglais)

 

Cette conférence conceptualisera d’abord les signes d’autisme en termes de forces (‘les styles d’apprentissage autistiques’ – SAA) ou de faiblesses (‘les troubles d’apprentissage autistiques’ – TAA) relatives souvent observées chez les personnes avec un TSA, et parfois avec d’autres conditions neurodéveloppementales. Le modèle SAA/TAA sera appliqué à la sélection spécifique de stratégies de traitement adaptées aux profils SAA/TAA, ajustées au niveau développemental et au rythme d’apprentissage, et qui se concentrent sur le choix du curriculum pour refléter des attentes développementales à plus long terme pour le niveau d’instruction atteint en fin de scolarité.

Michael Wehmeyer, PhD

Directeur et Scientifique Principal, Beach Center on Disability

Chaire, Life Span Institute, Department of Special Education, University of Kansas

Professeur Distingué en Éducation Spécialisée Ross and Marianna Beach
 

Conférence

Les approches basées sur l’autonomie, l’auto-détermination et les forces pour tous les apprenants avec un handicap : Un pont vers les transitions du 21è siècle

(Présentation en anglais)

La recherche a établi que la promotion de l’auto-détermination chez les jeunes avec un handicap donnait de meilleurs résultats scolaires et lors des transitions. Cette conférence examinera l’auto-détermination, ses applications dans le domaine des transitions, et le rôle central de l’auto-détermination dans les modèles émergents basés sur les forces. Cette session résumera les données issues de la recherche relative à l’auto-détermination et à l’implication de l’étudiant dans la planification de son éducation et de sa transition, et explorera les impacts de l’évolution de la perception des handicaps sur l’éducation des étudiants avec et sans handicap.

514-744-2867 ext. 276

scert@summit-school.com

1750 rue Deguire, Saint-Laurent, H4L 1M7, QC

© 2018 by Summit School. Proudly created with Wix.com

conference

MONTREAL, QC    NEW RESIDENCE HALL

NOVEMBER 1st, 2019

.

KEYNOTE SPEAKERS

The Summit Centre for Education, Research, and Training (SCERT) invites you to our first annual Conference on Neurodevelopmental Conditions (NDCs). Our aim is to bring together leading scholars to communicate their knowledge on issues concerning individuals with NDCs. Our keynote speakers - Dr. Bryna Siegel & Dr. Michael Wehmeyer - will address self-determination and transitioning into adulthood. Breakout session speakers will lead workshops on diverse topics including healthy sexuality, sleep difficulties, cognitive assessment, and family dynamics (some workshops offered in French). The conference is geared toward scholars, professionals, educators, and parents.

Continuing Education Credits

The Summit Center for Education, Research, and Training (SCERT) is approved by l'Ordre des Psychologues du Québec and the Canadian Psychological Association to offer up to 5 hours of continuing education credits for psychologists. SCERT maintains responsibility for the program. (View Disclaimer)

New Residence Hall

3625 Park Ave

 

Montreal, QC

H2X 3P8

BREAKOUT SESSION SPEAKERS

Isabelle2.jpg

Healthy Sexuality: Adaptive Skills for Students with ASD

ISABELLE HÉNAULT, PhD 

roger-godbout.jpg

Sleep Difficulties in Autism and Intellectual Disability: Causes and Interventions (In French)

ROGER GODBOUT, PhD

Bryna Siegel.jpg

Autism Family Wellness:  Educating and Training Parents and Professionals to Support Children with Autism from Diagnosis through Adulthood

BRYNA SIEGEL, PhD

Lucy Lach.jpg

Documenting the Lives of Families of Children with Neurodevelopmental Conditions: From Understanding to Impact 

LUCYNA LACH, PhD

IsabelleSoulieres29012014.jpg

Challenges of Cognitive Assessment in Children with Neurodevelopmental Conditions (In French)

ISABELLE SOULIÈRES, PhD

Wehmeyer_Michael L_PROV-02191_1602191_8x

Building the Bridge to 21st Century Transitions:  Methods, Materials, and Strategies to Promote Self-Determination

MICHAEL WEHMEYER, PhD

Complimentary Events

October 31st, 2019

Pre-Conference Event! Join us for early registration, cocktails, and a screening of "Being Rachel", an award-winning sixty-minute documentary about youth with neurodevelopmental conditions putting on a play about their lives. 

Cocktails and Movie Night

5:00PM to 8:00PM

November 1st, 2019

Vendors and exhibitors representing local individuals and organizations that work with youth with neurodevelopmental conditions. From flowers to artwork, get a head start on your holiday shopping!

Vendor Fair

All Day Nov. 1

November 1st, 2019

Following the afternoon breakout speakers, relax, mingle, and take some time to cultivate connections during our poster session. Complimentary cocktails and hors d'eurves will be offered.

 

Cocktails and Poster Session

4:00PM to 5:30PM

Sponsors

REGISTRATION FEES

Regular Registration.......................................................

Summit School Parent Registration..............................

Student Registration.......................................................

$225

$125

$125

Early Bird

(Ends Sept 23)

Regular

$250

$150

$150

LIMITED SPACE!

Cancellation Policy: A refund of 75% of conference registration fees may be attained by emailing your cancellation request to scert@summit-school.com on or before October 1st 2019. Only medically verifiable cancellations will be considered for partial refund after this date.

CPA Disclaimer

The CPA’s approval of an individual, group, or organization as a CE Sponsor or Provider is restricted to the activities described in the approved application or annual report form. The CPA’s approval does not extend to any other CE activity the Sponsor or Provider might offer. In granting its approval, the CPA assumes no legal or financial obligations to Sponsors, Providers, or to those individuals who might participate in a Sponsor or Provider’s CE activities or programs. Further, responsibility for the content, provision, and delivery of any CE activity approved by the CPA remains that of the CE Sponsor or Provider. The CPA disclaims all legal liability associated with the content, provision, and delivery of the approved CE activity.

SCERT CONFERENCE 

November 1st, 2019

New Residence Hall

3629 Ave Du Parc,

Montreal, QC

scert@summit-school.com

Bryna Siegel, PhD

Executive Director, Autism Center of Northern California

Professor, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, University of California, San Francisco (Retired)

KEYNOTE

Reconceptualizing ASDs as Autistic Learning Styles and Autistic Learning Disabilities:

Making Treatment Individual, Developmental, and Outcome-Oriented

 

This keynote will begin by framing signs of autism in terms of relative strengths (‘autistic learning styles’--ALSs) or weaknesses (‘autistic learning disabilities’--ALDs) often observed in those with ASDs, and sometimes overlapping with other neurodevelopmental disorders. The ALS/ALD framework will be applied to selecting specific treatment strategies to fit ALS/ALD profiles, adjusting for developmental level and learning rate, and emphasizing the selection of curriculum to reflect longer-term developmental expectations for educational attainment by the age of school completion.

Michael Wehmeyer, PhD

Director and Senior Scientist, Beach Center on Disability

Chair, Life Span Institute, Department of Special Education, University of Kansas

 Ross and Marianna Beach Distinguished Professor in Special Education
 

KEYNOTE

Autonomy, Self-Determination, and Strengths-Based Approaches to All Learners with Disabilities:

A Bridge for 21st Century Transitions

Research has established that promoting the self-determination of youth with disabilities results in more positive school and transition outcomes.  This session will examine self-determination, its application to the field of transition, and the central role of self-determination in newly emerging strengths-based models of disability.  The session will overview research knowledge with regard to self-determination and student involvement in education and transition planning and explore how changing understandings of disability are impacting the education of students with and without disabilities.